Seven years is a long time in the music world. Aspiring children have grown up and stormed the charts. Whole new genres of music have evolved and created their own categories. And Gary Lightbody-led quintet Snow Patrol have (finally) produced album number seven – Wildness.

Gary Lightbody (Kalpesh Patel)

The Chasing Cars hit makers never officially broke up, or went on hiatus following 2011’s Fallen Empires, going on to put out a greatest hits collection in 2013 with some supporting shows and so were always expected to return. Even with Lightbody putting out two records with his Tired Pony outfit, a collaboration with R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck, producer Jacknife Lee and featuring collaborations with Editors frontman Tom Smith and Irish songstress Lisa Hannigan, a return to the stage for Snow Patrol was on the horizon.

Snow Patrol - Simon Lipman at European Space Agency (ESA)

Wildness lands on 25th May and Lightbody says of the new record “There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all it’s confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness. Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it.”

Check out the album trailer here:

Snow Patrol have already been announced for the Coventry location for this year’s BBC Biggest Weekend as well as Lisbon’s NOS Alive festival and Madrid’s Mad Cool Festival among other European festival dates.

Wildness Track Listing

01 Life On Earth

02 Don’t Give In

03 Heal Me

04 Empress

05 A Dark Switch

06 What If This Is All The Love You Ever Get?

07 A Youth Written In Fire

08 Soon

09 Wild Horses

10 Life And Death