Friendship are a groovy power trio from Oslo, Norway. The band was formed in 2010 and consists of Fredrik Skalstad on drums and vocals, Sander Eriksen Nordahl on guitar and Martin Morland on bass. The gel that binds the trio is their years of experience and discipline to their craft as musicians. As a result, they have forged a sound that is tight, groovy, dynamic and adventurous; a sound that is unmistakably Friendship. They release their  third single, Ain’t No Shame, on 11th May and you can hear it right here first. This is the title track of their new album, which is released on 25th May.

Taking influence from the psychedelic vibe of the late ’60s and the heart and soul of the early ’70s, Friendship bring something reinvigorating and fresh to the table of retro-rock bands. They list artists such as Jimi Hendrix, Grand Funk, Cream, Rory Gallagher, Earth Wind and Fire and The Who as influential to them. These influences become apparent when you experience them the way they were meant to be heard, live. Feeding on the energy of the moment, Friendship soar seamlessly through cosmic jams, no performance ever the same, effortlessly demonstrating their craftsmanship and joy of music.

In 2011, Friendship released their first recording, a limited hand-numbered 7″ single. Their debut full length followed in 2014, which was received warmly by the European underground rock scene.

Four years later the band are preparing to release Ain’t No Shame, their highly anticipated follow up album, recorded and mixed at Studio Paradiso with Christian Engfelt (Big Bang, Cato Salsa Experience). Ain’t No Shame is a more mature record than their debut, from the opening riff you can feel the time, love and passion that has gone into creating this record. Fans of Friendship will not be disappointed, and those new to the Friendship train will enjoy the ride.

Ain’t No Shame will be released on 25th May by infamous psych and stoner rock label Kozmik Artifactz.

Images courtesy of Ida Toldnæs