Multi million selling British singer-songwriter Tanita Tikaram will be returning with new album Closer To the People on 11th March 2016 through earmusic.

Food On My Table is the first song to be released from the album and is an avant garde soul track, backed by an evocative black and white video directed by Natacha Horn, where Tanita tells of an aresting love story.

Tanita’s distincitve voice and superlative songwriting saw her rise to worldwide acclaim in 1988 when she released debut album Ancient Heart, which included hits such as Twist In My Sobreity and Good Tradition. With new album Closer To The People Tanita stands apart once again with a maverick record that takes influence from her live band who played with Van Morrison and John Martyn, a lifetime of records, as well as contemporary recording ideas that give the music a dynamic sound of their own.

“This record is inspired by the blues sound that I’ve come to love playing with my band. Bobby Irwin, Martin Minning and Matt Radford create a unique groove that is rooted in British rhythm and blues, and soul. I wanted to couple that with the playfulness of contemporary production. The album is called Closer To The People as a reflection of our time; we are more aware of our closeness to one another – or how distant a more connected world has made us.” Tanita told us.

Tanita Tikaram plays the Big Tent at Hop Farm Music Festival 2012 (Photographer Simon Jay Price)


1. Glass Love Train

2. Cool Waters

3. The Way You Move

4. Closer To The People

5. Gris Gris Tales

6. The Dream OF Her

7. Don’t Turn Your Back On Me

8. Food On My Table

9. Night Is A Bird

10. My Enemy

UK tour dates to be announced