Following the widely praised Volume 1 of Moon Duo’s two part psychedelic opus, Occult Architecture, today Sanae Yamada & Ripley Johnson announce the release of Volume 2 for May 5 on Sacred Bones.
 
The announcement comes with a new track & video entitled Lost In Light, giving a glimpse into the shimmering world that represents the lighter half of this Yin and Yang themed creation – the Yang.

The new video was created by Micah Buzan as a counter-reaction to his previous animation for Cold Fear. Speaking on this new video for Lost in Light, he told us: “Lost In Light is the yang to Cold Fear’s yin. In Cold Fear the aliens ruled the planet in their giant skyscrapers and tortured humanoids. Lost In Light continues the story of Cold Fear a million years into the future, when the aliens have died off after exhausting the planet’s resources, and nature reclaims the land. Huge flowers grow out of the dead humanoids, aliens, and their buildings. Moon Duo emerge from an alien’s head as a flower and rainbow, becoming one with the planet as the sun absorbs everything into oblivion.”


 Meaning all things magick and supernatural, the root of the word occult is that which is hidden, concealed, beyond the limits of our minds. If this is occult, then the Occult Architecture of Moon Duo’s fourth album – a psychedelic opus in two separate volumes – is an intricately woven hymn to the invisible structures found in the cycle of seasons and the journey of day into night, dark into light.
 
Offering a cosmic glimpse into the hidden patterning embedded in everything, Occult Architecture reflects the harmonious duality of these light and dark energies through the Chinese theory of Yin and Yang. Following the Yin (darkness, night, earth) represented on Occult Architecture Vol. 1Vol. 2 presents the Yang.
 
Yang means “the bright side of the hill” and is associated with the sun, light and the spirit of heaven, and as such Vol. 2 explores the light and airy elements of Moon Duo’s complex psyche.

“In production we referred to Vol. 1 as the fuzz dungeon, and Vol. 2 as the crystal palace,” guitarist Ripley Johnson explains. “The darkness of Vol. 1 gave birth to the light of Vol. 2. We had to have both elements in order to complete the cycle. We’re releasing them separately to allow them their own space, and to ensure clarity of vision. To that end we also mixed Vol. 2 separately, in the height of Portland summer, focusing on its sonic qualities of lightness, air, and sun. Listeners can ultimately use the two volumes individually or together, depending on circumstance or the desired effect.”
 
Moon Duo is led by Ripley Johnson and keyboardist Sanae Yamada. Written and recorded in their hometown of Portland, Oregon, the two-part epic Occult Architecture reflects the hidden energies of rainclouds and sunshine and the deep creep of Northwest forests along with their effect on the psyche, inspired by the occult and esoteric literature of Mary Anne Atwood, Aleister Crowley, Colin Wilson, and Manly P. Hall.
 
Pre-order Occult Architecture Vol. 2 here: http://hyperurl.co/OAVol2
 
Occult Architecture Vol. 2 track list:
1. New Dawn
2. Mirror’s Edge
3. Sevens
4. Lost in Light
5. The Crystal World





 
Moon Duo Tour Dates:
Sat. Mar. 11 – Mexico City @ Festival NRMAL
Wed. Mar. 15 – Newcastle, UK @ Northumbria University
Thu. Mar. 16 – Manchester, UK @ Band On The Wall
Fri. Mar. 17 – London, UK @ Heaven (supported by Baba Naga)
Sat. Mar. 18 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Sun. Mar. 19 – Nancy, FR @ L’Autre Canal
Mon. Mar. 20 – Zurich, CH @ Plaza
Tue. March. 21 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn

Thu. Mar. 23 – Budapest, HU @ A38
Fri. Mar. 24 – Graz, AT @ Orpheum Extra
Sat. Mar. 25 – Vienna, AT @ Chelsea
Mon. Mar. 27 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
Tue. Mar. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Bi Nuu
Wed. Mar. 29 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumphuset 
Thu. Mar. 30 – Oslo, NO @ Bla 
Fri. Mar. 31 – Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Sat. Apr. 1 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pusterviks
Mon. Apr. 3 – Groningen, NL @ Vera Club
Tue. Apr. 4 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Wed. Apr. 5 – Eindhoven, NL @ Effenaar
Thu. Apr. 6 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Fri. Apr. 7 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club 
Sat. Apr. 8 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Fri. Apr. 21 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Apr. 22 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Sun. Apr. 23 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern 
Tue. Apr. 25 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa
Wed. Apr. 26 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Thu. Apr. 27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Fri. Apr. 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s 
Sat. Apr. 29 – Washington, DC @ DC9 
Sun. Apr. 30 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Mon May. 1 – Columbus, OH @ Ace Of Cups
Thur Jun. 8 – Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew
Sat Jun. 10 – Barcelona, ES @ Unload Club

Mon Jun. 12 – Bilboa, ES @ Kafe Antzokia
Tue Jun. 13 – Madrid, ES @ Caracol
Wed Jun. 14 – Biarritz, FR @ Wheels and Waves Festival
Thur Jun. 15 – Montpellier, FR @ Le Rockstore
Mon Jun. 19 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix
Tue Jun. 20 – Brussels, BE @ Les Ateliers Claus

Jun. 28 – Jun. 30 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri Aug. 18 – Parades De Coura, PT @ Parades de Coura
 
Links:
Occult Architecture Vol. 1 stream
Cold Fear official video
www.moonduo.org
www.sacredbonesrecords.com/collections/moon-duo
www.facebook.com/moonduoofficial
www.twitter.com/moonduo